Review: Pei Wei Pork Egg Rolls

October 14, 2010

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Purchased at: Pei Wei Asian Diner
Price: $3.75 (2 egg rolls)

Pei Wei is the carryout/more wallet-friendly version of PF Chang’s, a restaurant I’ve never actually been to. I’ve never felt the need to try it because Pei Wei is so damn good. These egg rolls are no exception.

I got two, but only needed to eat one. Of course I didn’t actually do this. They’re a lot different than most egg rolls I’ve gotten from Chinese take-out places. The meat in these egg rolls is GOOD. It’s cooked, ground pork, but it isn’t dry (a problem I find happens too often with ground meat). In fact, it’s really moist and delicious. There are a lot of different vegetables in these, too -carrots, mushrooms, cabbage, and scallions – and they’re all really good. I’m not usually a fan of mushrooms, but they’re cut small enough that they add flavor, but you don’t get any huge pieces of them.

The only downside to these is the fact that they’re greasier than I would prefer. They’re great, but felt a little weighed-down with grease. The filling has a lot of flavor and is pretty rich. Two for $3.75 made a good snack at a good price, but I was really full after I ate both of them.

4.5/5

One Response to “Review: Pei Wei Pork Egg Rolls”


  1. i have a very busy lifestyle too, and i would always frequently eat on Fastfoods :~.


Leave a Reply

