Review: Friday’s Potato Skins

October 13, 2010

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Purchased at: Kroger
Price: $3.59

I picked these up on a whim at the store earlier today and I don’t even know why. The picture on the box didn’t look appetizing and I hate Friday’s (but does ANYONE actually like it?). I go with my friends once a year and we always complain about how the food is mediocre and overpriced. But we keep on going, because, like the song in Fiddler on the Roof, it’s tradition.

The picture I took doesn’t look very good, either. They tasted better than I expected, though. The potatoes were nice and crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. The middles were a little “al dente,” but that may have been my oven. And it wasn’t terrible, in fact it was just about what I would expect to get from a frozen TGI Friday’s appetizer.

The bacon was surprisingly good. I, like many other food bloggers, really love bacon. I’ve had frozen bacon before (in Lean Cuisines and vegetable mixes) and it’s always been lackluster. It’s usually kind of soggy and floppy and fatty. Not here. This bacon is crispy and salty. In fact, it was the best part of these potato skins.

I’ll admit it. The cheese sauce scared me a little. It was neon orange and shiny…which aren’t qualities I usually want in my food. Construction barrels? Perfect. Cheese? Not so much. But, guess what? It tasted damn good.

Are these amazing? No. Do the bacon and cheese make up for the mediocre potatoes? Hell yes.

2.5/5

Leave a Reply

