Review: International Delight Coffeehouse Inspirations – Caramel Macchiato

June 21, 2010

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Purchased at: Meijer
Price: $1.69

I’m not a big coffee drinker, but every so often, it really hits the spot. Usually, I go to Starbucks and spend an arm and a leg (or…you know…$3.50) on a caramel macchiato, because they’re delicious. Caramel, coffee, milk, and vanilla syrup. What’s not to love? Besides the price, of course.

Then I saw this at Meijer and it was like the heavens opened up. I heard organs and harps. I saw angels. Or something. 20+ caramel macchiatos, all from the comfort of my own house (+ pajamas), for $1.69? I was sold. And today, I decided to give it a shot, because I was up all night cramming for a final and speed-writing a final paper.

First off, I made the coffee a little too strong. I rarely make it at home, so this isn’t my forte. Because of this, I had to add a little more creamer than I would usually use. It smells really awesome when you mix it with the coffee – it’s that bitter coffee smell mixed with a sugary sweet caramel. If it tastes half as good as it smells, I’m all for it.

Guess what? It does! I used about a tablespoon and a half of the creamer for one regular-sized mug of coffee. It cuts the bitterness of the coffee and adds a nice silky touch. The caramel isn’t overpowering at all, and I’m not sure if there’s any vanilla here or not. Of course, it’s not the same as a caramel macchiato from Starbucks, but it’s a lot cheaper and a lot better for you (because no matter what anyone tries to tell me, I do NOT think Starbucks tastes good when made with skim milk. Go big or go home.). And it enables my laziness, because I don’t have to change out of my pajamas or go out in public to get it every morning.

It’s a good substitute and I’d buy it again.

4/5

Leave a Reply

