Review: Lay’s Kettle Cooked Chips – Jalapeno

June 1, 2010

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Purchased at: CVS
Price: $.99

I’m not a big fan of kettle cooked chips, but I was looking for something with a little bit of a kick to it when I was at CVS this morning. I finally narrowed it down to these chips and some cheesy bbq flavored Cheetos. I was intrigued by the Cheetos, but also slightly disgusted. The kettle cooked chips won out in the end.

These things smell AWESOME when you open the bag. There’s a little bit of spice, but not too much. They also smell salty and greasy, which happen to be my two favorite things about potato chips. There are little flecks of green on the chips, because, duh, they’re jalapeno flavored.

I would have liked a little bit more heat from the chips, though. The jalapeno flavor is bright and tangy, and the spice slowly creeps up on you. I never felt that they were too spicy, and it was a pleasant heat – not insanely uncomfortable or annoying at all. I was still able to taste the other flavors of the chips over the heat (salt, potatoes, possibly vinegar?). In fact, they were so good that my “I’ll just try one or two for right now” idea turned into “downing the whole bag in about five minutes.”

4/5

Leave a Reply

