Review: McDonald’s Chocolate Banana Milkshake

May 11, 2010

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Purchased at: McDonald’s
Price: $2.00
According to the package… there was no description available anywhere in-store, and the McDonald’s website doesn’t even acknowledge the existence of this milkshake.

I know, I know, I’ve been slacking here lately. I apologize. In my defense, I was out of town for the past few days. That’s part of the reason I bring you this latest review, actually. Mid-roadtrip, I ran into a McDonald’s and saw the sign out front advertising their newest milkshake flavor – chocolate banana.
Of course I stopped in to try one.

I think it’s important to note that I only go to McDonald’s for one of two reasons: late-night McFlurry cravings or hangover breakfasts. I haven’t actually been inside of one in two or three years, so I totally forgot about their plan to make the stores more “upscale” and sell coffeehouse-style beverages. I was expecting to get this milkshake in one of their little white, paper cups coated in wax. Nope. It’s huge! And in a plastic cup, topped with whipped cream and a cherry. And it was only two bucks. I thought it was a pretty good deal, considering milkshakes this size usually cost twice the price at ice cream shops.

It looks like a plain chocolate milkshake, so I was a little worried that I wouldn’t taste the banana at first. That’s not a problem here. Strangely, it LOOKS like chocolate, but I didn’t taste any. The fake banana flavor is overwhelming. And this is coming from someone who loves fake banana flavored things (Runts, Laffy Taffy, etc.) more than real bananas. This milkshake tastes exactly like a cold, liquid piece of banana Laffy Taffy. I was very disappointed and only drank about half of it before deciding to let it melt in my cupholder for three hours. Of course, the fake banana smell also permeated the air and hung around in my car for a few hours, until I finally stopped and threw it out.

I let everyone else I was with try it and nobody wanted more than a sip or two. We were all very disappointed, because chocolate and bananas go so well together, but this didn’t deliver.

1/5

3 Responses to “Review: McDonald’s Chocolate Banana Milkshake”

  1. Jess Says:

    Wow, bummer! Bummer first that it seems to…not really exist. Fifth dimension milkshake? And bummer second that it sucked hard.

    • sfoodreviews Says:

      In retrospect, that’s probably why the McDonald’s website doesn’t even acknowledge it.

      I’ll stick to Steak N Shake’s chocolate/banana milkshakes, I guess.

  2. Eva Campbell Says:

    all of my kids love to dwelll on ice cream shops, they really love to munch lots of ice cream -~”


Leave a Reply

