Review: Trader Joe’s Citrus Gumdrops

April 28, 2010

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Purchased at: Trader Joe’s
Price: $1.99
According to the package… Vegan/tangerine, pink grapefruit, key lime, lemon

If you’ve never been to a Trader Joe’s before, you need to know one thing: they’re constantly bringing in new products. According to their website, they try to bring in at least 10 new items a week. (Unfortunately, this also means they frequently stop carrying items, too, in order to make room for all their new products. I still miss their potatoes au gratin, and those were discontinued MONTHS ago.) These citrus gumdrops are one of their newer products.

The gumdrops come in four flavors – key lime, tangerine, pink grapefruit, and lemon. The key lime and grapefruit flavors were the two that convinced me to buy the package.

Lemon – the lemon gumdrops are, unsurprisingly, the bright yellow ones. They’re pretty good, except they do have that artificial lemon flavor that’s not unlike the scent of Lemon Pledge. It isn’t bad, by any means, but it’s also my least favorite of the four flavors. That doesn’t mean I didn’t eat them, though.

Key Lime – the white gumdrops are the key lime flavor. I’m a sucker for key lime pie, and that’s exactly what the gumdrops remind me of. They’re tart and have a bright, refreshing flavor. The sugar coating on the outside really blends well with the tart flavor of the gumdrop. I would buy an entire bag of just this flavor.

Tangerine – I’m glad TJ’s decided to go with tangerine instead of the standard orange flavor. It’s a subtle flavor difference, but you can definitely tell it’s not just straight-up orange. It’s the sweetest of the four flavors, and it tastes exactly like a juicy tangerine. I’m not usually a big fan of orange-flavored things, but the slight variation/twist on the classic orange flavor is really nice.

Pink Grapefruit – The pink grapefruit gumdrops are reddish-purple in color. If I hadn’t known that this was grapefruit flavored, I wouldn’t have been able to tell. I would’ve just called it “citrus-y.” It’s a good flavor, but I guess I had higher expectations for it. I was hoping for something closer to a glass of fresh-squeezed grapefruit juice. It’s not bad, but it is a little disappointing.

Overall, these are pretty good. They’re nice and summery, which I’m guessing means they won’t stick around TJ’s forever. If you’re a fan of gumdrops/gummy candy, you should definitely give them a shot. The key lime and tangerine are the best flavors, but the other two are solid, as well.

3.5/5

One Response to “Review: Trader Joe’s Citrus Gumdrops”

  1. Jess Says:

    Hey there!

    I adore this website and the new layout! Can’t wait to see what you have in store. Trader Joe’s is amazing stuff.

    Jess


Leave a Reply

