Review: Trader Joe’s Spinach Lasagna

April 27, 2010

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Purchased at: Trader Joe’s
Price: $1.99
According to the package… well…there isn’t any product description, actually. I guess they expect it to speak for itself.

I discovered Trader Joe’s about a year ago, and I instantly fell in love. Before I ever went into one, I assumed it was some hoity-toity, expensive store (kind of like Whole Foods). Imagine my surprise when I realized it’s exactly the opposite and they actually have a lot of great prices. There’s a TJ’s right across the street from my college, so sometimes I stop in on my way home from class to pick up some lunch. Yesterday, I grabbed this.

Yeah, I know how the picture looks. Not good. And that’s entirely my fault – I popped it in the microwave (with a napkin on top to prevent sauce explosions all over my microwave) and then got distracted. I nuked it for a little too long, hence the burned, bubbly looking sauce around the edges. And the napkin pulled a lot of the cheese off, which was sad.

How does it taste, though? Delicious. There’s a ton of spinach in between the layers of pasta, which I wasn’t expecting. I thought it was going to be a mix of cheese and spinach, but there was definitely more of the green stuff than cheese. I’m not usually a big fan of cooked spinach, but it tastes really great in here. It’s not too watery (a problem I usually encounter with frozen, cooked spinach) and doesn’t taste too strong, either. Frozen pasta doesn’t usually have a great texture, but this one did. It wasn’t gummy or flimsy at all.

For $1.99, this was a surprisingly good lasagna. And it was huge. I was full after I finished it, but I didn’t feel weighed down or sluggish. Well done, TJ’s.

4/5

Leave a Reply

