Review: Bolthouse Farms Berry Boost Fruit Smoothie

April 23, 2010

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Purchased at: Kroger
Price: $2.99 (15.2 fl. oz. bottle)
According to the bottle… 100% natural, flavored blend of 8 not from concentrate and from concentrate juices.

I’ve always looked at these juices at the store, but I’ve never been able to bring myself to purchase them because they’re SO pricey. $2.99 for a small bottle? Surely they can’t be that good, right? Well, today I had $2.70 in bottle returns (oh, one of the many joys of living in Michigan!), so I finally decided to splurge and try one out. So technically, I only paid $.29 for this juice. I can live with that.
The Berry Boost flavor sounded most appealing to me, because I love fresh berries and bananas, both of which are in this juice drink. Apple juice and apple puree are both in here, as well. (Isn’t apple juice in EVERY juice blend ever, though?) I cracked this bottle open right after I got home from the grocery store, because I couldn’t wait any longer.

How does it taste? Well, first off, it’s thick. I don’t know why I wasn’t expecting this, since it has fruit puree in it AND it’s called a smoothie right on the label. The flavor is good, but I’m definitely picking up on the apple more than any berries, which is kind of disappointing. I’m not a big apple juice fan. It tastes fresh, though, and I do like the consistency. The flavor really, really reminds me of Gerber’s apple blueberry baby food, though (I lived off the stuff after I got my wisdom teeth taken out), and it’s only a little bit thinner than that. For $2.99, you could probably pick up about 3 or 4 jars of the baby food, but then…you’d had to purchase baby food for yourself. And that’s something nobody ever wants to do.

Overall, I do think this is really excellent juice. And it’s definitely healthy, too (500% of your RDA of Vitamin C! Fiber! Potassium! Iron!), but I still think the price is really steep and probably won’t buy it again unless it’s on sale.

3.5/5

Leave a Reply

