Review: Rice-A-Roni Fried Rice

February 16, 2010

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Purchased at: Kroger
Price: $1.00 (on sale)
According to the box: A delicious mix of rice, vermicelli, and Asian seasonings

Like I said yesterday, I’m lazy, which means I like pre-seasoned, easy to make rice/pasta sides. And I eat them as meals. I grabbed this box at my local grocery store during one of their 10 for $10 sales, because I figured I didn’t have much to lose for only $1.00

The rice and vermicelli both cooked nicely, absorbing the flavors of the seasonings/sauce very well. The entire dish takes on a yellow hue, which is from the turmeric that’s added just for color. I don’t think adding turmeric was necessary since you can’t taste it and I don’t think the yellow looks very appetizing, but I’ve gotta give Rice-A-Roni credit for using spices for color (versus artificial coloring).

Yes, this is a pretty solid dish. But there is one problem…I didn’t think it tasted any different than the original Rice-A-Roni, except that there were some dehydrated leeks and celery pieces in this one. Soy sauce is listed in the ingredients, but I didn’t taste any. If there wasn’t a picture of a dragon on the box, I probably wouldn’t have known that this was supposed to be an Asian-inspired side dish.

Overall, I’d buy this one again. I think it would be pretty awesome served with some chicken and stir-fried veggies. It’s good, but don’t expect it to taste like the fried rice that your local Chinese carryout place serves.

***/*****

Leave a Reply

